Philippine Science High School System History

The Philippine Science High School System is an attached agency of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST).

The first Philippine Science High School was established in Diliman, Quezon City under Republic Act No. 3661, known as the PSHS Charter. The school opened on 5 September 1964 at a rented building owned by the Philippine Government Employees Association along Elliptical Road, Diliman, Quezon City. It was only in 1970 that the school moved to its present campus along Agham Road, Diliman, Quezon City. In 1997, the PSHS System Law (R.A. 8496) was signed by President Fidel V. Ramos. It established the PSHS System and unified all the existing campuses into a single system of governance and management. In 2001, the PSHS System Law was further amended by R.A. No. 9036 consolidating the power and authority over all PSHS System campuses into a single Board of Trustees to ensure uniform policy coordination, standards and management.


PSHS-SRC was founded on February 3, 2012 by virtue of BOT Resolution No. 2012-02-04 to ensure optimum distribution of opportunities for Science & Technology-gifted in Region XII and neighboring areas.


The campus formally opened on June 17, 2013 with a pioneering batch consisting 52 Filipino scholars. Since its inception, it remained true to its mandate of honing its scholars towards holistic growth - offering quality education that is humanistic in spirit, global in perspective, and patriotic in orientation. Since 2013 to present, SRC has been under the tutelage of Dr. Chuchi P. Garganera, Campus Director.